Honey Bee

Professional ratings
Review scores
AllMusic4.5/5 stars[1]
Robert ChristgauB–[2]
Encyclopedia of Popular Music4/5 stars[3]
Entertainment WeeklyB–[4]
The Essential Rock Discography7/10[5]
Music Story4.5/5 stars[7]
Rolling Stone4/5 stars[8][10]

Wildflowers is the second solo studio album by American musician Tom Petty, released on November 1, 1994. The album was the first released by Petty after signing a contract with Warner Bros. Records (where he had recorded as part of the Traveling Wilburys) and the first of three albums produced by Rick Rubin. The album was certified 3× platinum in the United States by the Recording Industry Association of America.

The album features all members of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, with the exception of drummer Stan Lynch. Steve Ferrone plays drums on Wildflowers and would join the band officially the following year. However, the album was not credited to the Heartbreakers because, in Petty's words, "Rick (Rubin) and I both wanted more freedom than to be strapped into five guys."[11] Freedom notwithstanding, Petty chose to use most of his regular band as session players, demonstrating his comfort with that format. Rolling Stone placed Wildflowers at number 12 on their list of the best albums of the 1990s.[12] Guitar World placed the album at number 49 in their "Superunknown: 50 Iconic Albums That Defined 1994" list.[13]

Four singles were released from the album between 1994 and 1995, the most successful of which, "You Don't Know How It Feels", reached No. 13 on the Billboard Hot 100 and topped the Album Rock Tracks chart for one week. It was followed by "You Wreck Me", "It's Good to Be King" and "A Higher Place" which reached Nos. 2, 6, and 12 respectively on the Mainstream Rock chart.[14]

In April 2015, when Petty's back catalog was released in High-resolution audio, this was one of only two albums not included in the series (Songs and Music from "She's the One" was the other one), but a hi-res version was available on Pono Music.

All songs written by Tom Petty, except where noted.

  1. "Wildflowers" – 3:11
  2. "You Don't Know How It Feels" – 4:49
  3. "Time to Move On" – 3:15
  4. "You Wreck Me" (Petty, Mike Campbell) – 3:22
  5. "It's Good to Be King" – 5:10
  6. "Only a Broken Heart" – 4:30
  7. "Honey Bee" – 4:58
  8. "Don't Fade on Me" (Petty, Campbell) – 3:32
  9. "Hard on Me" – 3:48
  10. "Cabin Down Below" – 2:51
  11. "To Find a Friend" – 3:23
  12. "A Higher Place" – 3:56
  13. "House in the Woods" – 5:32
  14. "Crawling Back to You" – 5:05
  15. "Wake Up Time" – 5:19
  • "Girl on LSD" was released as the B-side of the "You Don't Know How It Feels" single (1994).
  • "Leave Virginia Alone" was another song written and recorded during the sessions and left off the finished album. It was given to Rod Stewart for his album A Spanner in the Works (1995).
  • Several outtakes were included on the She's the One soundtrack album (1996).
  • In 2015, Petty released the track "Somewhere Under Heaven" as promotion for a 20th anniversary two-disc Wildflowers re-release, which has yet to materialize.
  • In 2018, outtake "Lonesome Dave," recorded July 23, 1993, was released on Petty's posthumous box set An American Treasure.



  • Joe Barresi – assistant engineer
  • David Bianco – engineer
  • Mike Campbell – producer
  • Richard Dodd – engineer, mixer
  • Steve Holyrod – assistant engineer
  • Kenji Nasai – assistant mixer
  • Tom Petty – producer
  • Rick Rubin – producer
  • Jim Scott – engineer
  • Jeff Sheehan – assistant engineer

Weekly Charts

Chart (1994) Peak


US Billboard 200 8[15]
UK Album Charts (OCC) 36[16]


Year Single Chart Position
1994 You Don't Know How It Feels US Mainstream Rock Chart 1[17]
1995 US Billboard Hot 100 13[17]
"You Wreck Me" US Mainstream Rock Chart 2[18]
"It's Good to Be King" 6[19]
"A Higher Place" 12[20]
Region Certification Certified units/sales
United States (RIAA)[21] 3× Platinum 3,000,000^

^shipments figures based on certification alone

  1. ^ AllMusic review
  2. ^ "Robert Christgau: CG: Tom Petty". www.robertchristgau.com.
  3. ^ Larkin, Colin (ed.) (2011). The Encyclopedia of Popular Music (5th edn). London: Omnibus Press. p. 2005. ISBN 978-0-85712-595-8.CS1 maint: extra text: authors list (link)
  4. ^ "Music Reviews: 'Wildflowers' and 'You Got Lucky'". November 4, 1994.
  5. ^ Strong, Martin C. (2006). The Essential Rock Discography. Edinburgh, UK: Canongate. p. 816. ISBN 978-1-84195-827-9.
  6. ^ Graff, Gary; Durchholz, Daniel (eds) (1999). MusicHound Rock: The Essential Album Guide. Farmington Hills, MI: Visible Ink Press. p. 870. ISBN 1-57859-061-2.CS1 maint: extra text: authors list (link)
  7. ^ "Tom Petty Wildflowers". Acclaimed Music. Retrieved December 26, 2014.
  8. ^ a b "Tom Petty – Wildflowers CD Album". www.cduniverse.com.
  9. ^ Sodomsky, Sam (October 10, 2017). "Tom Petty: Wildflowers". Pitchfork. Retrieved January 22, 2018.
  10. ^ "Wildflowers".
  11. ^ Petty, Tom: Conversations with Tom Petty, page 142. Omnibus Press, 2005.
  12. ^ "100 Best Albums of the Nineties: Tom Petty, 'Wildflowers' | Rolling Stone | Lists". Rolling Stone. Retrieved August 13, 2011.
  13. ^ "Superunknown: 50 Iconic Albums That Defined 1994". GuitarWorld.com. July 14, 2014. Archived from the original on July 15, 2014. Retrieved July 14, 2014.
  14. ^ Tom Petty discography
  15. ^ "Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers Wildflowers Chart History". Billboard. Retrieved March 31, 2019.
  16. ^ "wildflowers | full Official Chart History | Official Charts Company". www.officialcharts.com. Retrieved March 31, 2019.
  17. ^ a b "Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers You Don't Know How It Feels Chart History". Billboard. Retrieved April 16, 2019.
  18. ^ "Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers Chart History". Billboard. Retrieved April 16, 2019.
  19. ^ "Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers It's Good To Be King Chart History". Billboard. Retrieved April 16, 2019.
  20. ^ "Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers A Higher Place Chart History". Billboard. Retrieved April 16, 2019.
  21. ^ "American album certifications – Tom Petty – Wildflowers". Recording Industry Association of America. If necessary, click Advanced, then click Format, then select Album, then click SEARCH.